Rob Schnapf

  • Rob Schnapf has been making critically-acclaimed records for the past two decades. He first gained recognition by producing (with his then-partner Tom Rothrock) Beck's debut album, "Mellow Gold," including the breakthrough single, "Loser." Rob and Tom produced three albums for Elliot Smith, including "XO" and "Figure 8."

    Click here for a full bio



  • Mitch Rowland 'Come June'
    Rob produced, mixed and performed on this album. He also co-wrote 2 tracks, "Shadow Range" and "Here Comes the Comeback."
  • X 'Alphabetland'
    Produced, recorded and mixed by Rob, this is the band's first album in 35 years to feature all of its original members.
    • #1 Best Album of the Year – NPR Fresh Air
    • #1 overall record - Bandcamp
    • #2 Best L.A. Album of 2020 - Los Angeles Times
    • #4 Billboard College & Community Chart
    • "As driving, poetic and accomplished as anything X has ever done." LA Times
    • "Full of piss and vinegar lyrically, each track going off like a firecracker." Buzzbands LA
  • Kurt Vile 'Bottle It In'
    Rob produced, recorded and mixed 3 songs from this album which was ranked #9 on Rolling Stone's "Best Albums of 2018" list. Rob produced the single, "One Trick Ponies," which Barack Obama listed as one of his favorite songs of 2018.
    • #2 Independent Album
    • #2 Vinyl Album
    • #3 Tastemaker Album
    • #7 Alternative Album
  • Cass McCombs 'Mangy Love'
    Rob produced, recorded and mixed this acclaimed album:
    • "4 stars... his finest album" - MOJO
    • "Best New Track" (Opposite House) - Pitchfork
    • "One of the Best Rock Albums of 2016" - Pitchfork
    • 4 stars - Rolling Stone
    • "His richest ever recording" - NME
  • Kurt Vile 'B'lieve I'm Goin Down'
    Rob produced, recorded and mixed 3 songs from this critically acclaimed album, including "Pretty Pimpin" - Vile's first #1 single, also certified Gold in US. It's ranked as one of "The Best 50 Albums of 2015" by NME, Pitchfork, Stereogum, and The AV Club, and one of "The Top 20 Albums of 2015" by Rolling Stone.
    • #6 Independent Album
    • #8 Top Rock/Alt Album
    • #10 Top Rock Album
    • #40 Billboard Top 200
  • Elliott Smith 'XO'
    Rob co-produced and recorded this album, which became the best-selling release of Elliot's career. As with his two previous albums, also produced by Rob, 'XO' earned a place on many's "Best Album" lists - Spin magazined ranked it #90 on its list of "The 125 Best Albums" in the magazine's lifetime, while Pitchfork included it on their list of "The Greatest Albums of the 1990's."
  • Fidlar 'Fidlar'
    Rob mixed all but 2 songs on this debut album. TIME named it one of the most anticipated album releases of 2013.
    • #5 Heatseeker Album
  • Beck 'Mellow Gold'
    Rob and his partners started Bong Load Custom Records, which recorded and released Beck's breakthrough single "Loser." The album itself, co-produced and mixed by Rob, was later released through Geffen Records. Guitar World magazine named it #4 on their "Superunknown: 50 Iconic Albums that Defined 1994" list.
    • 2x Platinum in US
    • Gold in CAN
  • The Garden 'Haha'
    Rob produced and mixed this album. NME says "their music perfectly captures modern California, where Twitter-damaged 20-somethings with minds like 70-channel televisions drink and drug their way through over-stimulated drudgery. For that alone, 'Ha Ha' is a worthwhile listen."
  • The Vines 'Highly Evolved'
    Rob produced and mixed this debut album, and played guitars on several tracks. The album won an ARIA Award, and has sold more than 1.5 million copies. NME magazine voted it the "2nd Best Album of the Year." It is also included in the book "100 Best Australian Albums."
    • #3 UK Album
    • #5 ARIA Album
    • #11 US Album
  • Booker T. Jones
    'The Road From Memphis'

    Rob co-produced and mixed this album, which once again won the Grammy Award for "Best Pop Instrumental Album." It was also included on Mojo's list of "Top 50 Albums of 2011."
  • Saves The Day
    'Stay What You Are'

    Rob produced and mixed this album, which NME calls "One of 20 Emo Albums That Have Resolutely Stood The Test Of Time."
  • Starsailor 'On The Outside'
    The band's third album was produced and mixed by Rob. It has been certified Silver in the UK.
  • Foo Fighters 'Foo Fighters'
    Rob co-mixed this debut album, including the single "I'll Stick Around." Kerrang! named it the "Best Album of the Year." It received a Grammy Nomination for "Best Alternative Music Album," has been certified Platinum in the US and Canada, and certified Gold in UK.
    • #23 Billboard Top 200
    • #3 Album in UK
    • #3 Album in AUS
    • #5 Album in CAN
  • Beck 'Odelay'
    Rob produced and mixed one track from this Grammy winning album. Rolling Stone named it "Album of the Year," along with NME and The Village Voice Pazz & Jop who named it "Best Album of the Year." It was also named "One of the Greatest Albums of All Time" by Q, Rolling Stone, Pitchfork Media, and Spin.
    • 4x Platinum in US
    • 3x Platinum in UK
    • 2x Platinum in CAN
  • Guided By Voices
    'Isolation Drills'

    This album was produced and mixed by Rob. It debuted on Billboard's Top 200 and was ranked on PopMatters' list of "Best Albums of the '00s." AllMusic writes: "With Rob Schnapf behind the controls, Isolation Drills sounds like the real rock album GBV have always wanted to make."
    • #6 Independent Album
    • #8 Heatseeker Album
  • Powderfinger 'Dream Days at the Hotel Existence'
    Rob produced and mixed this album, including the single "Lost and Running." It was certified Platinum within the first week of release, and became the fastest selling album of the year in Australia.
    • #1 ARIA Album debut
    • 3x Platinum in AUS
  • Moby "South Side"
    Rob mixed this track, which appears on the album 'Play.' It is one of Moby's most successful singles, winning the BMI Pop Song Award for "Best Pop Song" and being his only single to chart on Billboard's Hot 100 chart.
    • #3 Modern Rock Track
    • #8 Adult Top 40
    • #14 Billboard Hot 100
    • #16 US Dance Club Song
  • The Vines 'Winning Days'
    Rob produced this album, including the single "Ride," which was ranked as one of Triple J's "Hottest 100 of 2004."
    • #7 ARIA Album
    • #29 UK Album
  • Elliott Smith 'Figure 8'
    Rob co-produced, recorded and mixed this album. It was placed at #42 on Rolling Stone's "100 Greatest Albums of the Decade." The album was also placed on Pitchfork's list of "200 Greatest Albums of the 2000's." The album charted in the Top 100 in the US, UK, and AUS.
  • Booker T. Jones
    'Potato Hole'

    Rob produced this album with Booker T. It won the Grammy Award for "Best Pop Instrumental Album."
  • Saves The Day
    'In Reverie'

    This album was produced by Rob, and is the band's highest charting album to date.
    • #4 Independent Album
    • #27 Billboard Top 200
  • Mavis Staples 'Live:
    Hope At The Hideout'

    This live album was mixed by Rob. It earned a Grammy Nomination for "Best Contemporary Blues Album."
    • #17 Top Gospel Album
  • The Vines 'Melodia'
    Rob produced and mixed this album.
    • #12 ARIA album
  • Toadies 'Rubberneck'
    Rob produced, recorded and mixed this album.
    • #1 Heatseeker Album
    including the single
    "Possum Kingdom":
    • #4 Modern Rock Song
    • #9 Mainstream Rock Song
  • The Redwalls 'De Nova'
    Rob produced and mixed this album, including the track "It's Alright," which was featured on HBO's Original Series Entourage.
    • #3 Heatseeker Album
  • Elliott Smith 'Either/Or'
    This critically acclaimed album was co-produced and mixed by Rob. NME calls it one of the "500 Greatest Albums of All Time." Blender deemed it one of the "100 Greatest Indie Rock Albums Ever."